Local housing resources
ABERDEEN AHA NINE-HOUSING-ENTRY REVIEW — https://aberdeenhousing.com/property-description/, all nine linked property pages and https://aberdeenhousing.com/current-openings/ reviewed September 29, 2026. AHA lists eight named apartment/townhome developments plus scattered single-family homes. It separately describes the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher as PRIVATE-LANDLORD tenant-based help: applicants wait for funds and eligibility review, then find an inspected qualifying unit; it is NOT a tenth AHA housing site. On https://aberdeenhousing.com/current-openings/, reviewed September 29, 2026, AHA says it has NO current openings and its waiting lists are always open to applications. The property pages link the English pre-application https://sdaberdeen.tenmast.com/apply/ and Spanish https://sdaberdeenspanish.tenmast.com/apply/; a confirmation number confirms submission, not admission or vacancy. AHA says applicants enter the chosen program's waitlist after all required information is submitted, waits vary and cannot be predicted; notify AHA of address/family-size changes or a returned letter may remove an application. Contact https://aberdeenhousing.com/contact-us/: 310 S Roosevelt St, Aberdeen, SD 57401 (OFFICE, not a shared residence); 605-226-2321. Seven single-address entries: Central Villas (1901 S Merton St); Homestead Apartments (2222 3rd Ave SE); Sherman Apartments (223 S Main St); Sunshine Park Townhomes (1524 S Lawson St); Meadow Wood Townhomes (2714 1st Ave SE); Jackson Heights Apartments (1016 1st Ave SE); Sister Janice Klein Village Apartments (2002 5th St N). Lawson View spans 1315 S High St AND 1316 S Lawson St and is unpinned rather than mapped to one building. Scattered single-family homes have no shared site address and are also unpinned. AHA's office 310 S Roosevelt St must not be used as a housing pin. Central Villas: AHA lists 40 apartments in a two-story non-smoking complex for people 55 and older: 30 one-bedroom (six accessible) and 10 two-bedroom (two accessible), 659–821 sq ft. Each has a single-stall garage, range, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, central air, forced-air heat, washer and dryer. Utilities are included; reduced-price Ride Line tickets are offered. Income must be BELOW the posted cap. Household sizes 1–8: $44,700 / $51,120 / $57,480 / $63,840 / $69,000 / $74,100 / $79,200 / $84,300 (first value printed without a dollar sign on the authority page; limit effective date not stated). Posted fixed rents: one-bedroom $406–$654; two-bedroom $725 or $805. The page says voucher users pay 30% of adjusted income; non-voucher residents pay a set rent, NOT 30%. Verify current charges. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/central-villas/. Homestead Apartments: The overview lists 75 independent-living apartments in a one-story, three-wing brick complex opened in 1972 on two acres for heads of household age 62+ or disabled. One-/two-bedroom options appear on the authority's separate rent/video pages; described floor plans are approximately 550–575 sq ft, with hot-water heat, shower seats, carpeted living/bedrooms, standard refrigerator, air conditioning, on-site laundry, a community room, wing lounges and parking. The property detail calls these 'non-assisted apartments' while also saying rent is income-based; ask AHA to reconcile the program designation. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $59,600 / $68,100 / $76,600 / $85,100 / $91,950 / $98,750 / $105,550 / $112,350; effective date not stated. Rent is described as 30% of adjusted income, including utilities except telephone and cable. Extra fees apply for deep freezers and car plug-ins. Do not assume a fixed dollar rent. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/homestead-apartments/. Sherman Apartments: AHA's overview lists 51 one-bedroom independent-living apartments in a seven-story downtown high-rise built in 1981 for heads of household age 62+ or disabled. Units are about 550 sq ft with electric range, refrigerator, carpeted living/bedroom and air conditioning. Elevator, on-site laundry, first-floor community room/mailboxes, parking and Senior Nutrition Noon Meal site. The detail describes 'non-assisted' residents but also income-based rent; verify the precise program. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $59,600 / $68,100 / $76,600 / $85,100 / $91,950 / $98,750 / $105,550 / $112,350; effective date not stated. Rent is described as 30% of adjusted income, including utilities except telephone and cable. Extra fees apply for deep freezers and car plug-ins. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/sherman-apartments/. AHA Single Family Homes: AHA offers families two-, three- and four-bedroom homes scattered throughout Aberdeen; no individual home streets or site count are supplied. Homes vary in size but have a stove, refrigerator, microwave, washer/dryer in the basement, central air/forced-air heat and a storage shed. Tenants handle lawn care and snow removal. Income must be BELOW the page's posted household-size 1–8 caps: $59,600 / $61,100 / $76,600 / $85,100 / $91,950 / $98,750 / $105,550 / $112,350. The two-person $61,100 differs from the $68,100 on Homestead/Sherman; do not silently substitute one. Date not stated; confirm with AHA. Rent is described as 30% of adjusted income. Residents pay all utilities, with assistance through a utility allowance; this is not an all-utilities-included home. Scattered-site homes are not one mappable apartment address; request the actual offered home's street before visiting. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/single-family-homes/. Lawson View Townhomes: The overview identifies TWO Lawson View locations: 1315 S High St and 1316 S Lawson St, Aberdeen. It describes remodeled two-, three- and four-bedroom family townhomes furnished with range, microwave hood, refrigerator, central air, dishwasher, washer and dryer. The individual property page states residents pay heat and electricity with a utility allowance, while the overview mentions electricity only; ask AHA to confirm responsibility for a particular unit. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $44,700 / $51,120 / $57,480 / $63,840 / $69,000 / $74,100 / $79,200 / $84,300; effective date not stated. Rent is described as 30% of adjusted income. No fixed dollar schedule supplied. One group covers 1315 S High St AND 1316 S Lawson St. It is intentionally not pinned to just one building. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/lawson-view-townhomes/. Sunshine Park Townhomes: AHA lists five buildings and 28 two-, three- and four-bedroom townhomes (two accessible), 1,052–1,572 sq ft, with private front/back entries, attached one-stall garage, range, refrigerator, microwave hood, dishwasher and air conditioning. The individual page says washer/dryer HOOKUPS and documents service animals with proper paperwork; the overview says washer and dryer are provided, so verify a specific unit's machines. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $44,700 / $51,120 / $57,480 / $63,840 / $69,000 / $74,100 / $79,200 / $84,300; effective date not stated. Posted CONTRACT rents: two-bedroom $521–$612, three-bedroom $791, four-bedroom $945. This is set rent, NOT 30% of adjusted income unless using a Section 8 voucher, per AHA. Overview says tenants pay heat/electricity; confirm utility allocation and current rent. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/sunshine-park-townhomes/. Meadow Wood Townhomes: AHA lists six buildings and 32 two-, three- and four-bedroom townhomes (two accessible), 1,036–1,597 sq ft, with private front/back entries, attached one-stall garage, range, refrigerator, microwave hood, dishwasher, central air and washer/dryer HOOKUPS on the individual page. The overview says washer and dryer are furnished; verify machines for the actual unit. Service animals are allowed with required documents. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $44,700 / $51,120 / $57,480 / $63,840 / $69,000 / $74,100 / $79,200 / $84,300; effective date not stated. Posted CONTRACT rents: two-bedroom $539–$664, three-bedroom $768, four-bedroom $904. Set rent, NOT 30% of adjusted income unless using a Section 8 voucher. Overview says residents pay heat/electricity; confirm current amounts. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/meadow-wood-townhomes/. Jackson Heights Apartments: The overview identifies a 41-unit complex; individual page describes a three-story building with one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments of 671–1,233 sq ft, eight accessible first-floor units, range, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, central air, forced-air heat, washer/dryer and all utilities included. Playground, trash chute, elevator, secured foyer; 29 single-stall garages may be rented for an EXTRA charge subject to availability. Income must be BELOW the posted household-size 1–8 caps: $44,700 / $51,120 / $57,480 / $63,840 / $69,000 / $74,100 / $79,200 / $84,300; effective date not stated. Posted CONTRACT rents: one-bedroom $422–$684; two-bedroom $510–$837; three-bedroom $788–$970. Set rent, NOT 30% of adjusted income unless using a Section 8 voucher. Verify current quote. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/jackson-heights-apartments/. Sister Janice Klein Village Apartments: The AHA overview gives 2002 5th St N, Aberdeen. Its detail page describes three buildings and 36 three-/four-bedroom apartments with two full bathrooms, range, refrigerator, central air, on-site laundry, all utilities and wireless internet included. The property page says NO income limits, unlike the other AHA property pages. Confirm the current program and any non-income eligibility conditions directly; do not apply another property's income table. The page says rent is based on payment standards, but gives no dollar rent or automatic 30%-of-income rule. Ask AHA for current rent and whether vouchers are accepted here. Source https://aberdeenhousing.com/sister-janice-klein-village-apartments/. The source overview and detail pages conflict on washer/dryer machines versus hookups at Sunshine Park and Meadow Wood, on Lawson View's heat responsibility, and on the two-person scattered-home income cap versus other higher-limit properties. Homestead and Sherman use 'non-assisted' wording while describing 30%-of-income rents. Preserve these as source claims pending clarification; do not combine the different income tables or assume every posted rent is a current opening. Eight property pages name a denial for certain criminal activity without defining it; Sister Janice's own page does not give that rule, so its screening remains unconfirmed.