Local housing resources
Research reviewed 2026-09-25. Lafayette Housing Authority rental directory: https://www.thelha.com/rental-properties/rental-properties-listing/
Official Rental Properties page and embedded map: https://www.thelha.com/rental-properties/. Directory entries and source-reported details, in directory order:
Villa Gardens — 600 Patterson St., Lafayette, LA 70501: 43 page-reported units; 3-bedroom, 4-bedroom; 2 bath; 1,328 – 1,493 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: $830 – $930 rent and $830 – $930 deposit (not current offers). Bedroom mix: 33 – 3 bedroom/2 bath single-family homes and 10 – 4 bedroom/2 bath homes. Reported income/program wording: Tax Credit Income Limits; Tax-credit income limits are explicitly reported by the property detail. The Multi-Family Housing page describes Villa Gardens but does not specify a minimum/maximum age. Features: The development also features a 3,400 square foot Community Center, two playground areas with commercial-grade play equipment, and a professional-grade sports court. Villa Gardens is conveniently located in walking distance of a medical facility, elementary school and shopping center. Office phone (337) 534-8234 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/villa-gardens/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
Cardinal Gardens I — 1600 E. Simcoe, Lafayette, LA 70501: 56 page-reported units; 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom, 4-bedroom; 1 bath; 622 - 1,208 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $200 - $350 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Official Public Housing table lists a 56-unit Simcoe Street development. The Rental Properties map gives Simcoe Development at the same 1600 E. Simcoe address and links to this detail page. Treat this as an address/name-supported correspondence, not a separate property. Office phone (337) 234-9040 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-i/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
Cardinal Gardens II — 1106 Moss St., Lafayette, LA 70501: 50 page-reported units; 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom, 4-bedroom; 1 bath; 622 - 1,208 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $200 - $350 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Official Public Housing table lists 50 Moss Street units. The map's Moss Street Development address matches this property's address; treated as the same address-supported community, not a separate rental. Office phone (337) 237-8530 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-ii/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
Martin Luther King Development — 101 Delahoussaye Drive, Lafayette, LA 70501: 74 page-reported units; 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom; 1 bath; 685 - 1,020 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $250 - $300 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Public Housing program development table lists Martin Luther King Blvd., 74 units, matching the listing's development name and unit count. Office phone (337) 232-3685 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/martin-luther-king-development/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
Macon Road Development — 300 Macon Rd., Lafayette, LA 70506: 100 page-reported units; 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom; 1 bath; 625 - 1,125 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $200 - $300 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Public Housing program development table lists Macon Road, 100 units, matching the listing and unit count. Office phone (337) 234-5526 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/macon-road-development/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
Irene Street Development — 1101 Irene St., Lafayette, LA 70501: 92 page-reported units; 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom; 1 bath; 688 - 843 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $250 - $300 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Public Housing program development table lists Irene Street, 92 units, matching the listing and unit count. Office phone (337) 412-6812 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/irene-street-development/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
C. O. Circle Development — 115 Kattie Dr., Lafayette, LA 70501: 200 page-reported units; studio/0-bedroom, 1-bedroom; 1 bath; 465 - 620 square feet. Undated rent/deposit page claims: Based on income rent and $250 - $300 deposit (not current offers). Reported income/program wording: Extremely Low - Low; Public Housing program development table lists CO Circle, 200 units, matching the listing and unit count. Office phone (337) 704-9432 (official detail: https://www.thelha.com/project/c-o-circle-development/); address/contact are page-reported, with no separate office address stated.
PUBLIC HOUSING — https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/public-housing-program/
The official Public Housing development table reports 572 units across CO Circle (200), Irene Street (92), Macon Road (100), Martin Luther King Blvd. (74), Moss Street (50), and Simcoe Street (56). The 572 is the table's total and excludes Villa Gardens' separately reported 43 units. The table's Moss Street and Simcoe Street names map to the corresponding address-supported directory entries Cardinal Gardens II (1106 Moss St.) and Cardinal Gardens I (1600 E. Simcoe); they are crosswalks, not additional records.
MULTI-FAMILY HOUSING — https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/multi-family-housing/
The page describes Villa Gardens and St. Antoine Gardens and includes general Low Income Housing Tax Credit Program (LIHTC) and Rental Assistance Demonstration (RAD) information. It does not state an open waitlist or current vacancy for any of the seven listing entries. The page provides Villa Gardens-specific tax-credit income-limit wording and general LIHTC/RAD information; the general financing/program material is not evidence that every directory property participates in a particular program. No reviewed page states an age restriction.
HOUSING CHOICE VOUCHER (HCV) — https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/housing-choice-voucher-program/
The Housing Choice Voucher Program is a federal government program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe and sanitary housing in the private market. A family that is issued a housing voucher is responsible for finding a suitable housing unit of the family’s choice where the owner agrees to rent under the program. HCV is tenant-based: the family finds a private-market unit whose owner agrees to rent under the program. It is a distinct resource, not evidence that a listed LHA community accepts vouchers, has vacancies, or has an open HCV waiting list.
APPLICATION AND WAITING-LIST STATUS
The Rental Properties page provides the Online Application portal (https://www.pha-web.com/portals/onlineApplication/2088), View Waiting List Status portal (https://www.pha-web.com/portals/waitingListStatus/2088), and Resident Login (https://www.pha-web.com/portals/applicant/2088). Portal links alone do not establish an open application period or current vacancy. The official dated notice (https://www.thelha.com/lafayette-housing-authority-to-open-waitlist-for-public-housing-studio-units/) said the Public Housing Studio (0-bedroom) application window ran August 19, 2026 at 8:00 AM through August 21, 2026 at 11:59 PM, up to 300 applications. That specific window had passed by the review date 2026-09-25; this makes no conclusion about the status of other bedroom-size or program lists. Check the official portal or LHA for current status.
MAP CROSSWALK AND RESOURCE-ONLY ITEM
Moss Street Development: Rental Properties map entry; its View Listing resolves to Cardinal Gardens II, whose detail reports 1106 Moss St., Lafayette, LA 70501 and 50 units. Public Housing table separately names Moss Street at 50 units. Map-reported address: 1106 Moss St. Lafayette, LA 70501; map listing: https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-ii/.
Simcoe Development: Rental Properties map entry; /project/simcoe-development/ resolves to the Cardinal Gardens I detail page with the same address and 56 units. Public Housing table names Simcoe Street at 56 units. Map-reported address: 1600 E. Simcoe, Lafayette, LA 70501; map listing: https://www.thelha.com/project/simcoe-development/.
Saint Antoine Gardens: Rental Properties map names the entry, shows the stated address, and links to an official project URL that returned 404. Multi-Family Housing page describes the property as 'Scattered site (office Villa Gardens)' in Lafayette, LA 70508 and names Latter & Blum Property Management. The mismatched address/ZIP and 404 detail page mean the map address is not treated as a verified individual rental address for a separate community. Map-reported address: 600 Patterson, Lafayette, LA 70501; map listing: https://www.thelha.com/project/saint-antoine-gardens/.
Saint Antoine Gardens is resource-only, not an apartment listing: its map View Listing points to an official detail URL that returned 404; the map reports 600 Patterson, Lafayette, LA 70501, while the Multi-Family page describes “Scattered site (office Villa Gardens), Lafayette, LA 70508” and names Latter & Blum Property Management. The conflicting location/ZIP and unavailable detail page do not establish an individual rental street address, so no Saint Antoine Gardens listing is created.
SOURCE CONFLICTS AND LIMITS
Cardinal Gardens I parish: Project detail labels Parish as 'Louisiana', while the property's heading/address, directory context, map address, and other LHA detail pages identify the Lafayette location. Preserve the page-reported parish field as anomalous; do not interpret 'Louisiana' as the parish name. Sources: https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-i/, https://www.thelha.com/rental-properties/.
Villa Gardens street spelling: Detail page says '600 Patterson St., Lafayette, LA 70501'; map says '600 Paterson, Lafayette, LA 70501' (one 't', no street suffix). Multi-Family Housing page also calls the office 'Villa Gardens' but gives no street number there. Detail-page spelling is used for the seven-entry record; map variant is retained as a discrepancy. Sources: https://www.thelha.com/project/villa-gardens/, https://www.thelha.com/rental-properties/, https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/multi-family-housing/.
Official public-housing unit inventory: The Public Housing table totals 572 units across CO Circle, Irene Street, Macon Road, Martin Luther King Blvd., Moss Street, and Simcoe Street. This agrees with the combined unit counts of the six non-Villa listed communities after the map/detail address crosswalk (200+92+100+74+50+56). Villa Gardens is separately reported as 43 units and is not in that Public Housing table; do not add it to that table's 572-unit total. Sources: https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/public-housing-program/, https://www.thelha.com/project/villa-gardens/, https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-i/, https://www.thelha.com/project/cardinal-gardens-ii/.
Map-only St. Antoine Gardens address and management: Map names St. Antoine Gardens and reports '600 Patterson, Lafayette, LA 70501' with a View Listing link to /project/saint-antoine-gardens/, which returns official 404. Multi-Family Housing page instead says 'Scattered site (office Villa Gardens), Lafayette, LA', gives ZIP 70508, names Latter & Blum Property Management, and lists 2- to 4-bedroom apartments. These are inconsistent location descriptions and no individually verified rental street address for St. Antoine Gardens was established; it is excluded from the seven directory communities. Sources: https://www.thelha.com/rental-properties/, https://www.thelha.com/project/saint-antoine-gardens/, https://www.thelha.com/residents-applicants/apply/multi-family-housing/.
Application, waitlist, age, and management data: The project detail pages do not report age requirements, property-level bedroom count breakdowns, named property management (except the separate St. Antoine text), or separate management-office street addresses. Detail-page office phone is preserved as such and is not treated as proof that the office is located at the community. No per-property current vacancy or waitlist status is stated.
No current vacancy, current rent offer, open/closed status for lists other than the expired studio window, property-specific age requirement, or screening acceptance/outcome is established. Do not infer one property’s eligibility/program from authority-wide descriptions. No reviewed property detail page gives age requirements or current vacancy. Do not infer vacancy, an open application period, or acceptance of applicants with felony convictions.