Felon Friendly Apartments in Kansas
Explore apartment communities, houses, and other housing options by city. “Felon friendly” is a search term, not a verified property designation. Check each property's screening rules; approval is never guaranteed.
Start with a place
Explore cities in Kansas
Choose a city to see its local housing guide and available information.
Property information
Latest screening records
Records may be unverified. Check each listing's verification status and contact the property directly to confirm its current screening policy.
Apartment Towers
Manhattan, KS
Verification date not provided
Baehr Place
Manhattan, KS
Verification date not provided
Belrose Manor
Kansas City, KS
Verification date not provided
Bethany Park Towers
Kansas City, KS
Verification date not provided
Bonner Springs
Bonner Springs, KS
Verification date not provided
Flint Hills Place
Manhattan, KS
Verification date not provided
Read before you apply
Housing guidance for Kansas
Background information, application guidance, and resources in smaller sections you can return to as needed.
How screening varies in Kansas
There is no universal "felony-friendly" certification. Screening policies differ by property and management company. This page does not make claims about state or local law; confirm a property’s current requirements directly before applying.
Kansas resources
KANSAS CITY KANSAS HOUSING AUTHORITY AFFORDABLE PROPERTIES — https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/index.php reviewed September 29, 2026. KCKHA says it owns and operates 1,843 income-subsidized homes, with eligible households paying 30% of adjusted household income for rent.
It introduces the four pictured addresses as “some” of its properties, not a complete roster, and gives no individual site unit totals or current vacancies. Three named sites are in Kansas City, KS; the fourth is in Bonner Springs. Photos do not establish that every home in a community stands at the displayed address.
The May 2022 flat-rent/utility table https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/rental_and_utility_assistance.php is dated historical information, not current advertised rent.
Bonner Springs — 421 Park Street, Bonner Springs, KS 66012. KCKHA's example-property page shows a fourplex photo labeled Bonner Springs and identifies 421 Park Street, Bonner Springs KS 66012. This is one named site, not every KCKHA property in Bonner Springs. A separate KCKHA flat-rent schedule effective May 2022 distinguishes Bonner Springs elderly/disabled and family categories; the latter lists a 415–421 N.
Park address range plus other Bonner Springs streets. Those historical categories and addresses do not establish which exact units are at the pictured 421 Park Street site, their current rents, amenities or availability. KCKHA provides a separate Bonner Springs-only public-housing waitlist application.
The May 2022 schedule https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/rental_and_utility_assistance.php lists efficiency/one-bedroom rows for a Bonner Springs elderly/disabled category and one- to three-bedroom rows for a family category; do not assign those mixes or quoted flat rents to this site without KCKHA confirmation.
Belrose Manor — 2924 W. 40th Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66103. KCKHA names Belrose Manor at 2924 W. 40th Avenue, Kansas City KS 66103 and captions its photo “BelroseManor Duplex.” The example page does not give a community-wide unit count, exact building list, current vacancy or screening decision.
KCKHA's flat-rent schedule effective May 2022 has Belrose rows for one through five bedrooms and an electric, gas and trash utility adjustment; these are historical schedule categories, not verified current floor plans or rental offers. May 2022 Belrose flat-rent/utility schedule: https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/rental_and_utility_assistance.php.
Bethany Park Towers — 1131 Central Ave., Kansas City, KS 66102. KCKHA identifies Bethany Park Towers at 1131 Central Avenue, Kansas City KS 66102. Its examples page does not state a senior age threshold, unit count, vacancy or property-specific screening outcome.
A separate May 2022 flat-rent schedule groups this building with other towers under efficiency, one- and two-bedroom categories and “utilities included”; ask KCKHA whether that older schedule applies to a given current unit. May 2022 tower flat-rent/utility schedule: https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/rental_and_utility_assistance.php.
Glanville Towers — 730 Nebraska Ave., Kansas City, KS 66101. KCKHA identifies Glanville Towers at 730 Nebraska Avenue, Kansas City KS 66101. Its examples page does not state a senior age threshold, unit count, vacancy or property-specific screening outcome.
A separate May 2022 flat-rent schedule groups this building with other towers under efficiency, one- and two-bedroom categories and “utilities included”; ask KCKHA whether that older schedule applies to a given current unit. May 2022 tower flat-rent/utility schedule: https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/rental_and_utility_assistance.php.
KCKHA's https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/applicants/index.php links a general public-housing waitlist application and a distinct Bonner Springs-only application. It says applications are processed at the Resident Selection office, 1124 N. 9th Street, Kansas City KS 66101; that office is not a fifth housing listing.
The presence of forms does not verify current waitlist intake, property-specific vacancies or conviction acceptance. Ask KCKHA at 913-281-3300 for open applications, actual rent, accessible-unit features and written screening rules; its public-housing policy is linked at https://www.kckha.org/housing/residents/public_housing_policy/index.php.
OLATHE HOUSING AUTHORITY PUBLIC HOUSING — https://www.olatheks.gov/government/housing/olathe-housing-authority/public-housing reviewed September 29, 2026. OHA describes 130 HUD-subsidized conventional public-housing homes: 66 apartments at Parkview Manor and 64 scattered-site single-family/duplex homes. These are portfolio counts, not current vacancies.
The Parkview residence is confirmed by https://www.olatheks.gov/Home/Components/FacilityDirectory/FacilityDirectory/71/127; the scattered homes have no individual home addresses on the source page. OHA's https://www.olatheks.gov/government/housing/olathe-housing-authority/waiting-list states that both the public-housing and Housing Choice Voucher waiting lists are currently closed.
The listed two-to-five-year wait estimate is for a waitlist with preferences, not an open application or a promised move-in date; existing applicants can check their position at 913-562-6380.
Eligibility on https://www.olatheks.gov/government/housing/olathe-housing-authority/public-housing includes income, household composition, citizenship/eligible immigration status, criminal background requirements and good standing with other housing authorities, landlords, utilities and child-support agencies; no conviction-specific acceptance criteria are given.
It lists working, elderly, disability and Olathe-residency preferences, not a Parkview-only age restriction. Contact OHA at 913-971-6260 for current intake, unit availability and its written screening criteria. The OHA office at 17300 W. 119th St. is a contact location, not a third residence.
Parkview Manor — Olathe Housing Authority says Parkview Manor is a four-story downtown Olathe high-rise with 66 apartments. Tenants pay 30% of adjusted gross household income or a flat-rate rent and do not pay utilities. The city facility directory independently identifies the residential public-housing building at 300 N. Chestnut Street, Olathe KS 66061.
The source does not give a current vacancy, specific available bedroom sizes or a conviction-screening approval decision. Parkview's 66 apartments are included in OHA's 130 conventional public-housing units, not additional to that total. Source: https://www.olatheks.gov/Home/Components/FacilityDirectory/FacilityDirectory/71/127.
Olathe Housing Authority Scattered-Site Homes — Olathe Housing Authority describes 64 single-family and duplex units scattered throughout Olathe. Tenants pay 30% of adjusted gross household income or a bedroom-size-based flat rate. The page publishes no individual residential addresses, neighborhood list, current vacancies or per-home bedroom mix. This is one portfolio group entry for 64 homes, not one building at OHA's office.
The group is deliberately unpinned; its 64 units are included in OHA's stated 130 conventional public-housing units. Source: https://www.olatheks.gov/government/housing/olathe-housing-authority/public-housing.
OHA's public-housing page allows one dog or cat subject to size, weight and policy limits; companion and service animals are allowed in all units with exceptions to those limits. It also allows birds and small fish tanks without a pet deposit, and lists exclusions for dangerous/venomous reptiles, ferrets, non-domestic and vicious animals. Confirm the applicable policy before bringing an animal.
OHA says tenants must report income changes by appointment within a month and household-composition changes by appointment within ten days; it also describes inspections, access for repairs and written moving notice on https://www.olatheks.gov/government/housing/olathe-housing-authority/public-housing. Verify current lease and policy details directly with OHA.
MANHATTAN HOUSING AUTHORITY FACILITIES — https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities reviewed September 29, 2026. The Facilities search has six unique cards, although its first page shows only five.
Four named public-housing communities have residential support in MHA's 2026 property RFP https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=: Apartment Towers (88 units), Baehr Place (20), Hudson Circle (19) and Pottawatomie Court (28). The Flint Hills Improvements, Inc. card is an affiliate/program label at Kimball Avenue and N.
Manhattan Avenue; https://www.mhaks.com/175/Flint-Hills-Tax-Credit-Program supports a rental site there, and the RFP calls Flint Hills Place a 30-unit work scope at 1300 Flint Hills Place. Those are program/site counts, not vacancies.
The directory's sixth card is Carlson Plaza at 425 Pierre Street (https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Carlson-Plaza-3), but MHA's https://mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/280/2027-Annual-Plan calls it a former site undergoing Section 18 disposition and planning for a replacement building. Earlier MHA board material reported all 47 former public-housing units vacated.
Its still-live Facilities card is not evidence of a currently leasable building; it is kept here as a historical/site-status lead, not a published rental record. Older program-page portfolio totals should not be added to the newer RFP scope or presented as present vacancies.
Apartment Towers — The Facilities card identifies Apartment Towers near Leavenworth Street and N. 5th Street, Manhattan KS 66502. MHA's 2026 asset-condition RFP identifies this public-housing residence as 88 units at 300 N. 5th Street. MHA also uses 300 N. 5th Street as an office address; the RFP independently establishes that housing is located there.
The card contains photos but no current unit vacancy, property-specific rent, screening approval or amenities inventory. The 88 units are an RFP property count, not available apartments. Facilities card: https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Apartment-Towers-2. RFP: https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=.
Baehr Place — The Facilities card labels this Baehr Place but prints “Baher Place and Claflin Avenue” as an intersection; the street spelling differs from its property name. MHA's 2026 asset-condition RFP lists Baehr Place at 1327 Baehr Place with 20 units. That RFP address is a site reference, not evidence that all 20 units occupy one entrance, so the group has no single map pin.
MHA's public-housing program describes duplex/fourplex and townhome communities but does not assign a specific structure or bedroom mix to this individual card. No current vacancy or screening approval is established. Facilities card: https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Baehr-Place-6. RFP: https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=.
Hudson Circle — The Facilities card locates Hudson Circle near Anderson Avenue and Hudson Circle, Manhattan KS 66502. MHA's 2026 asset-condition RFP lists 19 units across a 3501–3527 Hudson Circle site range. These are property-count and site-range claims, not a vacancy count or one verified entrance for every home; the community is unpinned.
Neither page identifies its individual units' rents, bedroom mix or criminal-history screening outcome. Facilities card: https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Hudson-Circle-5. RFP: https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=.
Pottawatomie Court — The Facilities card locates Pottawatomie Court near 10th Street and Pottawatomie Avenue, Manhattan KS 66502. MHA's 2026 asset-condition RFP lists 28 units at the 1000–1028 Pottawatomie Court site range. The range is not a single entrance and the 28 units are not live availability; this group is unpinned. Neither page verifies rents, each home's unit mix or conviction-screening approval.
Facilities card: https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Pottawatomie-Court-4. RFP: https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=.
Flint Hills Place — The Facilities directory calls its Kimball Avenue/N. Manhattan Avenue card “Flint Hills Improvements, Inc.”, an organization name, not a numbered residence. MHA's Flint Hills Tax Credit Program page independently says it manages income-qualified rental housing at that same intersection, with one- through four-bedroom units.
MHA's 2026 asset-condition RFP separately names Flint Hills Place, 1300 Flint Hills Place, with 30 units in that RFP's work scope. The public-housing program page calls its affiliated sixth property “Flint Hills Place Improvements” and describes 60 dual-designated public-housing/tax-credit units; the pages do not establish whether the RFP's 30 are a subset of those 60.
This one group entry does not turn the company or each unit into extra apartments. Neither intersection nor 1300 is asserted to be every home's entrance; no single street is pinned. The tax-credit page's income and rent tables have no effective date, so quoted prices and any vacancy require direct confirmation. Facilities card: https://www.mhaks.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Flint-Hills-Improvements-Inc-1.
Program: https://www.mhaks.com/175/Flint-Hills-Tax-Credit-Program. RFP: https://www.mhaks.com/DocumentCenter/View/276/MHA-RFP---PNA-2026?bidId=.
MHA's https://www.mhaks.com/173/Applications invites online applications for public housing and/or the voucher-program waitlist. It does not establish a vacant unit or open intake for every named community, and it does not explicitly say the same form covers all Flint Hills tax-credit units.
Confirm the applicable application route, current rent, availability and written criminal-history screening rules with MHA at 785-776-8588. No source reviewed establishes conviction acceptance for a particular property.
SALINA SHA SCATTERED-SITE AND WAITLIST REVIEW — Salina Housing Authority https://www.salinahousing.org/menu/project_based_vouchers.php identifies Salina RAD Homes' scattered Salina project-based rentals.
A July 2024 SHA project description https://www.salinahousing.org/newslist.php reports 118 inventory homes (24 RAD/94 PBV) but gives no residential addresses or live vacancy count; its manager office https://www.salinahousing.org/contact_us/index.php is not a residence.
As reviewed September 30, 2026, the PBV waitlist page says TWO-/THREE-bedroom lists are open, while tenant-based HCV https://www.salinahousing.org/menu/section_8_housing_choice_vouchers.php has been CLOSED since September 30, 2025 and public housing https://www.salinahousing.org/menu/public_housing.php permanently closed.
A general SHA FAQ https://www.salinahousing.org/menu/faq.php describes criminal-background review but no blanket felony rule. VASH, FSS and dated security-deposit assistance are separate services, not additional apartment sites. See the Salina city resource for source links and caveats.
A practical next step
Preparing your application
A little preparation can help you ask better questions before paying an application fee.
- Gather proof of income (recent pay stubs, an offer letter, or bank statements).
- Collect positive references from prior landlords or employers where possible.
- Prepare a brief, honest explanation letter that provides context for your record.
- Ask each property directly about its reported screening policy before paying any application fee.
- Confirm the lookback period and which offense types a property may consider.
Good to know
Frequently asked questions
What do the screening and verification statuses mean on Kansas listings?
A listing's screening status describes the policy reported for that property, while its verification status describes the status of that information. Check both, along with any verification date, and contact the property directly because policies can change.
Are all Kansas listings verified?
No. Unverified records may be publicly visible. Each listing displays its verification status, and a verification date appears when one is available.
Does a listing in Kansas guarantee approval?
No. A listing is not a promise of acceptance. Screening policies and decisions are made by each property; contact it directly to confirm its current requirements before applying.
Where can I find state-specific guidance for Kansas?
If state guidance or resources are provided on this page, review them below. This page is informational only and does not determine how a property's screening policy applies to you.
Request Housing Help
Tell us where you want to live and we will review your request and point you toward relevant housing resources. This is not a rental application, and approval is never guaranteed.
This page is informational only and is not a rental application. Reported policies can change at any time and approval is never guaranteed. Contact the property directly to verify. Last updated October 7, 2026.