Finding housing after a conviction can be difficult. You still have options.
State housing guide

Felon Friendly Apartments in Indiana

Explore apartment communities, houses, and other housing options by city. “Felon friendly” is a search term, not a verified property designation. Check each property's screening rules; approval is never guaranteed.

7 city guides Listings show reported policy and verification status

Start with a place

Explore cities in Indiana

Choose a city to see its local housing guide and available information.

Property information

Latest screening records

Records may be unverified. Check each listing's verification status and contact the property directly to confirm its current screening policy.

Read before you apply

Housing guidance for Indiana

Background information, application guidance, and resources in smaller sections you can return to as needed.

About housing in Indiana

Renting in Indiana with a felony record is a challenge many people manage successfully, especially when they go in prepared. The state has a mix of a large central metro, mid-sized cities, and smaller communities, and rental costs are often more moderate than in some larger coastal markets — which can give you room to be strategic.

The key is to treat your search as a process rather than a single roll of the dice. Every landlord sets its own screening rules, so casting a wide net while presenting a strong, honest application improves your odds across the board.

How screening varies in Indiana

Indiana screening and rental availability vary by provider. The six Indianapolis Housing Agency communities in https://www.indyhousing.org/communities have property descriptions, but those pages do not publish property-specific criminal-history approval, currently open units or a shared application deadline. Ask the relevant community for its written screening criteria and current intake rules.

There is no universal "felony-friendly" certification. Screening policies differ by property and management company. This page does not make claims about state or local law; confirm a property's current requirements directly before applying.

Application guidance for Indiana

- Apply broadly, including with smaller independent landlords who may review your case personally.

- Keep proof of income, ID, and references ready to submit quickly.

- Ask what each property checks before applying to avoid unnecessary fees.

- Offer a short, honest explanation of your record and evidence of current stability.

- Provide references from an employer, prior landlord, or case manager where possible.

- If credit is a concern, ask whether a larger deposit or co-signer could help.

Indiana resources

INDIANAPOLIS HOUSING AGENCY COMMUNITIES — official directory https://www.indyhousing.org/communities, six housing entries and one SCHOOL office entry reviewed September 29, 2026. The Indianapolis Public Schools District Office at 120 E. Walnut Street is not rental housing and has not been listed as an apartment.

Concord/Eagle Creek's 3125 Concord Court is a community site reference for a single-family/duplex group, not a confirmed address for each home. The two Barton buildings are separate sites. All six property pages describe communities, not an inventory of presently available units or a decision about applicants with convictions.

Concord/Eagle Creek — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/concordeagle-creek; directory phone 317-261-7344. IHA lists Concord/Eagle Creek as public housing and gives 3125 Concord Court, Indianapolis, IN 46222 as its community site reference.

Its detail page describes single-family and duplex homes on the near west side, with washer/dryer hookups, utility allowances, on-site maintenance, a community center, computer lab and playgrounds. Office hours on the page are Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 9 a.m.–1 p.m. The shared directory address is not proof that every home in this two-part group is at that entrance. No bedroom mix or opening is stated.

Indiana Avenue Apartments — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/indiana-avenue-apartments; directory phone 317-261-7221. IHA labels this mid-rise senior housing and explicitly says senior living for people 62 and older. Its page lists air conditioning, an emergency pull cord and fire alarm, on-site laundry, an elevator, computer lab, community room, weekday lunch program and resident activities.

It lists weekday office hours of 8 a.m.–5 p.m. It does not establish a present vacancy, exact apartment mix or admissions decision.

John J. Barton Annex — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/john-j-barton-annex; directory phone 317-261-7213. IHA labels this a senior/disabled mid-rise in the Mass Ave area. Its page lists a secured entrance, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, laundry on each floor, elevator, computer lab, community room, health clinic, parking and a daily lunch program. It lists weekday office hours of 8 a.m.–5 p.m.

The page does not specify a minimum age, unit mix or current opening for this building; do not borrow the separate Tower's floor plan.

John J. Barton Tower — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/john-j-barton-tower; directory phone 317-261-7447. IHA labels Barton Tower a senior/disabled high-rise. Its page describes income-adjusted rent, a Patterson one-bedroom/one-bath floor plan, approximately 600-square-foot renovated one-bedroom apartments, air conditioning, laundry, parking, accessibility, on-site management and maintenance, and a daily lunch program.

It lists weekday office hours of 8 a.m.–5 p.m. This is a separate site from Barton Annex; no exact senior age threshold or live unit opening is published.

The Georgetown — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/the-georgetown; directory phone 317-261-7245. IHA describes an Insight redevelopment of 90 rental homes in nine townhouse-style buildings, including 37 public-housing homes, five units reserved as transitional housing for formerly homeless residents and 14 market-rate homes. The directory labels it subsidized, affordable and market-rate housing.

Those are development and program counts, not available-unit counts or evidence that all 90 follow one application path. Its page supplies no current vacancy, price or bedroom mix.

The Martindale — https://www.indyhousing.org/communities/the-martindale; directory phone 317-261-7296. IHA describes two- and three-bedroom, 1.5-bath townhomes of 757 and 968 square feet in Martindale-Brightwood, with porches, rear patios, washer/dryer hookups, energy-efficient systems, parking and on-site management. Its page says tenants must qualify by income and pay 30%–40% of adjusted income.

It still says units “will be available” in fall 2018, and displays floor-plan starting figures of $852 for two bedrooms and $95 for three bedrooms. The latter appears anomalous; neither old 2018 wording nor either figure is verified current rent or availability. The community center is described as “coming soon,” not a confirmed completed amenity.

IHA's https://www.indyhousing.org/apply-now points to an applicant-portal login and password-reset instructions. A working portal link or existing-applicant login does not establish that every property's waitlist is accepting new applications; use https://www.indyhousing.org/help-center or the listed property phone to confirm intake and eligibility.

Senior-only and senior/disabled labels apply to the named properties, not to every community. The Martindale's fall-2018 availability wording and anomalous $95 three-bedroom floor-plan figure must not be presented as a current opening or dependable price.

FORT WAYNE HOUSING AUTHORITY COMMUNITIES — https://fwha.org/communities/, 13 linked community pages reviewed September 29, 2026. These are FWHA's named community records, not a current vacancy or open-waitlist inventory.

FWHA's public-housing overview https://fwha.org/programs/affordable-housing-programs/public-housing describes approximately 750 citywide public-housing units across its broader program; that is not the sum or availability count for these 13 entries. It explains that public housing involves moving into an FWHA-managed dwelling and that applicants can state a location preference at orientation without a guaranteed placement.

Its applicant-login link does not establish that every list is currently accepting applications. Ask FWHA at 260-267-9300 or https://fwha.org/contact which application route and criminal-history policy apply to the particular community.

Brooklyn Manor: FWHA describes a 52-unit tax-credit community for people age 55 or older with one- and two-bedroom apartments, a community room, fitness center and Florida room. The 52 units are the property total, not current openings. https://fwha.org/communities/brooklyn-manor/.

Southside Senior Villas: FWHA describes 16 one-bedroom units, some public housing and some conventional, with Citilink Route 8 access. Its undated page says rent is $445/month; that figure is an unverified source claim, not a current quote for every program unit. The page does not specify an age threshold despite the community's name. https://fwha.org/communities/southside-senior-villas/.

Scattered Sites: FWHA describes 50 three- and four-bedroom single-family homes spread throughout Fort Wayne, with yards and garages. It says that as of 2019 all houses had recently received new roofing, siding, furnaces and air-conditioning units. That is historical improvement information, not a current vacancy report.

No unique home address is supplied, so the group is not pinned to one building. https://fwha.org/communities/scattered-sites/.

North Highlands: FWHA describes 105 one- and two-bedroom apartments in a mid-rise elevator building, with paid utilities, laundry, air conditioning, game, fitness and community rooms and an on-site weekday nutrition program. The 105 is total inventory, not a vacancy count. https://fwha.org/communities/north-highlands/.

River Cove: FWHA describes 75 family units ranging from one to four bedrooms, paid water, a community room, on-site Head Start childcare and Boys & Girls Club programs. Those program descriptions and total units do not establish today's service schedule or an available unit. https://fwha.org/communities/river-cove/.

Maumee Terrace: FWHA gives 902–932 Harmar Street as a multi-building site range and describes 16 single-story, one-bedroom apartments downtown, on a bus route and with accessible features. The range is not one confirmed unit entrance and is intentionally not pinned to a single street number. https://fwha.org/communities/maumee-terrace/.

Whispering Oaks: FWHA says this community is for people age 62 or older and has 24 single-story one-bedroom apartments. It describes bus access and accessible features. The site is separate from nearby Tall Oaks; neither property total nor eligibility label establishes a vacancy. https://fwha.org/communities/whispering-oaks/.

Tall Oaks: FWHA describes 105 one- and two-bedroom apartments in a seven-story elevator building with paid utilities, laundry, air conditioning, a computer lab, library, game, fitness and community rooms and a weekday nutrition program. Its page does not explicitly set a minimum age; do not copy the adjacent Whispering Oaks' 62+ rule here. https://fwha.org/communities/tall-oaks/.

Village of Brooklyn Pointe: FWHA calls this Village at Brooklyn Pointe in its detail text and says it is for people age 62 or older, with 20 single-story one- and two-bedroom apartments, bus access and accessible features. The directory uses “Village of Brooklyn Pointe”; the two names refer to the same linked community, not separate properties. https://fwha.org/communities/village-of-brooklyn-pointe/.

Miami Homes: FWHA describes 48 single-story efficiency and one-bedroom apartments with on-site laundry and 24-hour emergency maintenance, near public transit and shopping. The listed resident-council activities are descriptions, not proof of an available apartment. https://fwha.org/communities/miami-homes/.

Brookmill Court: FWHA says apartments range from one to five bedrooms, with paid water, laundry, a community room and on-site preschool, youth-club and family-service programs. The page supplies no unit total, opening or current service schedule; ask FWHA for those details. https://fwha.org/communities/brookmill-court/.

Beacon Heights: FWHA describes 100 one- and two-bedroom apartments in a mid-rise elevator building with paid utilities, laundry, window air-conditioning units and community and fitness rooms. The site page also describes resident programs and nearby transit and services; its 100 units are not current vacancies. https://fwha.org/communities/beacon-heights/.

McCormick Place: FWHA's directory and detail page identify this community at 2811 McCormick Avenue. The detail page gives no bedroom mix, unit count, rent, amenities or current opening; do not infer them from other FWHA communities. https://fwha.org/communities/mccormick-place/.

Scattered Sites names 50 citywide houses but supplies no dwelling addresses; Maumee Terrace gives a 902–932 Harmar Street range, not one unique entrance. Both remain unpinned rather than assigning every home to one door. FWHA's administrative office at 7315 Hanna Street is a contact location, not a rental unit.

Southside Senior Villas' undated $445 claim and the scattered-site 2019 renovations must not be mistaken for current price or availability. Senior thresholds explicitly given for Brooklyn Manor (55+) and Whispering Oaks and Village of Brooklyn Pointe (62+) must not be applied to all FWHA sites.

EVANSVILLE HOUSING AUTHORITY RAD PROPERTY DIRECTORY — https://www.evansvillehousing.org/property-directory, eight property entries and linked pages reviewed September 29, 2026. EHA labels this its RAD Property Directory; the pages describe buildings and programs, not live vacancies, open waitlists, or acceptance of applicants with convictions.

Each property page has an “Apply” link to a print/fax/mail form page referring to this 2022 RAD-PBV waiting-list PDF: https://www.evansvillehousing.org/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/RAD-PBV-waiting-List-application-2022.pdf. A downloadable form is not proof that a given list is presently open; contact the named office first.

Scattered Sites' own page calls that group public housing while its apply page links to the RAD-PBV form: confirm the program-specific route rather than assuming one form covers all applicants.

Buckner Towers — 717 Cherry St., Evansville IN 47713; phone 812-428-8521; fax 812-436-4756. EHA describes 6 two-bedroom, 48 one-bedroom and 54 efficiency units. Its page lists refrigerators, window air conditioners, on-site laundry, secured entry, a bus stop, meal programs and emergency lines in the lobby/elevators. The food, transport and activity descriptions are undated and should be confirmed.

These are total units, not vacancies. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/buckner-towers/

Fulton Square Apartments — 1328 Dresden St., Evansville IN 47710; phone 812-428-8516; fax 812-428-8536. EHA describes 110 two- to four-bedroom family units with washer/dryer hookups and 82 efficiency or one-bedroom units with access to four laundry facilities. The page lists central heat/air, a Boys & Girls Club, daycare, playground, gardens, gazebos and transit.

The directory's text link to /properties/detail/fulton_square_apartments shows “page can't be found”; its linked image leads to this working EHA detail page. The combined counts are property composition, not available units. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/fulton-square-apartments/

John Cable Apartments — 1111 Cherry St., Evansville IN 47713; phone 812-402-5993; fax 812-402-7895. EHA describes 4 two-bedroom and 20 one-bedroom apartments, with refrigerator, stove, central heat/air, laundry, a community room, key-fob entry and surveillance.

The listed 1111 Cherry Street community address is also used as Scattered Sites' contact address; it must not be assigned to every scattered home. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/john-cable-apartments/

John M. Caldwell Homes — 736 Cross St., Evansville IN 47713; phone 812-428-8527; fax 812-428-8535. EHA's linked page calls this Caldwell Homes & Terrace Gardens and describes 180 one- to four-bedroom family units with washer/dryer hookups plus 6 efficiency units with shared laundry. It lists central heat/air, nearby transit, Head Start and YMCA-related programs.

The directory treats these names as one entry at 736 Cross Street; the site address is not an address for every unit or confirmation those programs are currently running. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/john-m-caldwell-homes/

Kennedy Towers — 315 S. E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Evansville IN 47713; phone 812-428-8520; fax 812-436-4762. EHA describes 7 two-bedroom, 43 one-bedroom and 50 efficiency units. Its page lists refrigerators, central air conditioning, on-site laundry, secured entry, a bus stop, emergency lines in the lobby/elevators and meal programs.

Program schedules and property totals do not establish a present opening. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/kennedy-towers/

Scattered Sites — residential addresses not published; phone 812-402-5993; fax 812-402-7895. EHA describes low-income family homes throughout Evansville under its public-housing program but supplies no number, bedroom mix or residential addresses. Its directory gives 1111 Cherry Street, the same address as John Cable Apartments, as the Scattered Sites contact/manager location; it is not a location for every home.

The page lists income, landlord, references, identity and criminal-history reviews, including EHA approval of the background review and possible FBI fingerprints. It quotes an 80% area-median-income limit and $10,500 or $15,000 minimum annual income depending on program; verify current applicability.

Its apply page links to a 2022 RAD-PBV waiting-list form despite the page's public-housing description, so ask EHA which intake process applies. This is not a promise of conviction approval. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/scattered-sites/

Schnute Apartments — 1030 W. Franklin St., Evansville IN 47710; phone 812-428-8531; fax 812-436-4752. EHA's page reports 1 two-bedroom, 23 one-bedroom and 91 efficiency apartments. It lists heating/air-conditioning, on-site laundry, key-card access, a manager's office, community-room activities, nearby bus access and meal services.

Its unit breakdown is identical to White Oak Manor's page; both are preserved as separate source claims but require EHA confirmation before treating the counts as independently verified. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/schnute-apartments/

White Oak Manor — 509 N. St. Joseph Ave., Evansville IN 47712; phone 812-428-8532; fax 812-436-4753. EHA's page reports 1 two-bedroom, 23 one-bedroom and 91 efficiency apartments. It lists heating/air-conditioning, on-site laundry, key-card access, a manager's office, community-room activities, nearby bus access and meal services.

Its unit breakdown is identical to Schnute Apartments' page; both are separate named properties, but the repeated counts should be checked with EHA. https://www.evansvillehousing.org/white-oak-manor/

Fulton Square's directory text link is broken, but EHA's working https://www.evansvillehousing.org/fulton-square-apartments/ confirms the same name, address and phone. John Cable's 1111 Cherry Street is also shown for Scattered Sites as a contact address; it cannot locate its homes. Schnute and White Oak's identical unit breakdowns should be treated as unverified page claims.

The scattered-site background and income questions are specific to that group, not a universal rule for every property.

HOUSING AUTHORITY OF SOUTH BEND COMMUNITIES — https://www.hasbonline.com/communities#listTop, eight residential communities and one agency office entry reviewed September 29, 2026. The Housing Authority of South Bend's office at 501 Alonzo Watson Drive is not an extra apartment listing; the separate Westcott 501 page describes 123 residential units at the shared address.

The other multi-home groups display directory site references or an address range, not individual dwelling entrances. The totals, rent/deposit figures and amenity descriptions come from undated property pages, not verified live offers. Every property remains unverified for vacancies and conviction-screening approval.

Edison Gardens — 3602 Edison, South Bend, IN 46615. HASB lists 20 units in condos, duplexes and fourplexes, with 2–4 bedrooms and 1–2 baths. Its undated page displays rent “$50 or based on income” and deposit “$200–275 or based on income”; these are not verified current quotes. It calls the property not age-restricted and not handicap accessible.

Residents pay listed gas, electric, water, sewer and trash utilities; the manager lists lawn care and pest control unless tenant-caused. Refrigerator, stove, microwave, porch and playground are listed. The one directory address is a site reference for a multi-home group, not a verified entrance for each unit. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/edison-gardens

Harber Homes — 4720 Williamsburg, South Bend, IN 46619. HASB lists 54 single-family homes with 2–5 bedrooms and 1–2 baths. Its undated page displays rent “$50 or based on income” and deposit “$200–275 or based on income”; ask for actual current charges. Some units, not all, are described as accessible; it says the property is not age-restricted.

Refrigerator, stove, porch, driveway, playground and clubhouse are listed. 4720 Williamsburg is the directory site reference, not a proven address for all 54 houses. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/harber-homes

Lasalle Landing — 1831 N Fremont, South Bend, IN 46628. HASB lists 24 condo apartments with 2–5 bedrooms and 1–2 baths. Its undated page displays rent $50–718 and deposit $200–275, not verified live prices. It says this is not age-restricted, pets are not allowed, and specifically identifies one unit numbered 1856 with front and rear ramps; do not extend that accessibility claim to every unit.

Residents pay listed gas heat, cooling, water and trash, while the manager lists electric, hot water, lawn and pest control. Washer/dryer hookups, refrigerator, stove, driveway, on-site management and playground are listed. A second unit number on the page shows that 1831 N Fremont cannot locate every apartment. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/lasalle-landing

Laurel Court — 427 Laurel Court, South Bend, IN 46601. HASB lists 42 units in condo apartments, duplexes, triplexes and fourplexes, with 2–5 bedrooms and 1–2 baths. Its page supplies no rent or deposit and labels the location not handicap accessible; it does not state an age threshold. Residents pay listed gas, electric, water, sewer and trash, while the manager lists lawn care and pest control unless tenant-caused.

Washer/dryer hookups, refrigerator, stove and porch are listed. 427 Laurel Court is a directory reference for the group, not every unit's confirmed entrance. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/laurel-court

South Bend Commons — 1283 South Bend Avenue, South Bend, IN 46617. HASB lists 20 apartments in condos, duplexes and triplexes, with 2–3 bedrooms and one bath. Its undated page displays rent “$50–826 or based on income” and deposit “$200–225 or based on income”; neither is a current offer. It calls the property not handicap accessible and says pets are not allowed.

Residents pay listed gas, electric, water and sewer, while the manager lists lawn, trash and pest control unless tenant-caused. Washer/dryer hookups, refrigerator, stove, microwave, porch and on-site management are listed. The single directory reference does not identify every building. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/south-bend-commons

Twyckenham Drive Apartments — 1213–1325 Twyckenham Dr, South Bend, IN 46615. HASB gives a 1213–1325 Twyckenham Drive address range and lists 18 units in condo apartments, single-family houses, duplexes, triplexes and fourplexes, with 2–5 bedrooms and 1–2 baths. Its undated page displays rent “$50 or based on income” and deposit $200–275; ask about present terms.

It calls the property not age-restricted and not handicap accessible. Residents pay listed gas, electric, water, sewer and trash; the manager lists lawn and pest control unless tenant-caused. Washer/dryer hookups, refrigerator, stove, porch and playground are listed. The street range is not one mappable dwelling entrance. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/twyckenham-drive-apartments

Westcott 501 — 501 Alonzo Watson Dr., South Bend, IN 46601. HASB lists a residential building with 123 one- and two-bedroom, one-bath apartments at 501 Alonzo Watson Drive. Its directory also lists the agency office at this same address as a separate non-housing entry; do not count that office as another property. Its undated page displays rent “$50–550 or based on income” and deposit $175–200, not verified current quotes.

It calls the building accessible, not age-restricted and no-pets. It lists manager-paid utilities and services, refrigerator, stove, fenced yard, elevator, lounge and 24-hour security. The 123 is total units, not vacancies. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/westcott-501

Westcott Quads — 425 Alonzo Watson Dr, South Bend, IN 46601. HASB lists 52 one-bedroom, one-bath condo/fourplex apartments. Its undated page displays rent “$50–550 or based on income” and deposit $175, not verified current terms. It calls the location accessible (lowered sidewalks, flats and ramps to the administration building), not age-restricted and no-pets; that description does not guarantee every unit's features.

It lists manager-paid utilities and services, refrigerator, stove, fenced yard, on-site management and 24-hour security. 425 Alonzo Watson Drive is the site reference, not a confirmed entrance for every quad. https://www.hasbonline.com/communities/westcott-quads

HASB's application page https://www.hasbonline.com/how-to-apply currently says its ONLINE waiting list is unavailable due to technical difficulties; it also says paper applications are available at the main office, 501 Alonzo Watson Dr. The separate online application link on that page is not proof online intake is functioning.

Confirm the paper process and any property-specific openings with HASB at 574-235-9346 before applying. Do not turn the source's undated $50 minimum or displayed ranges into current advertised prices.

BLOOMINGTON HOUSING AUTHORITY RAD COMMUNITIES — https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad, three linked property pages plus https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad/getting-started/ and https://bhaindiana.net/programs/application-portal/, reviewed September 29, 2026.

BHA calls its affordable RAD program 320 income-restricted homes across Walnut Woods, Reverend Butler and Crestmont, generally one to five bedrooms and supported by unit-linked Section 8 subsidy/LIHTC; the portal additionally describes Crestmont efficiencies. The 320 is a program total, not current vacancies.

Walnut Woods' 60 and Reverend Butler's 56 are property-page counts; do not derive an asserted Crestmont total by subtraction. BHA's portal calls Crestmont “Public Housing” in one section and includes it with RAD in another; confirm unit-level program classification.

Walnut Woods — 802 E. Miller Drive. BHA lists 60 one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments with private parking at 802 E. Miller Drive. Its page describes renovation priorities—code, environmental, accessibility, structural, modernization and energy work—but does not say every improvement is complete. It lists public transit, a Head Start location, resident council, playground, nearby schools and shopping.

The named bus stop is Miller at Walnut Woods; unit count is not an available-unit count. https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad/walnut-woods/

Reverend E. D. Butler — 1202 W. 11th Street. BHA's RAD overview shortens this name to Reverend Butler; the property page calls it Reverend E. D. Butler. It lists 56 one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments with private parking at 1202 W. 11th Street. Built in 1972, its page says renovated units were completed in 2009 and describes additional renovation priorities, not a present construction schedule.

It lists public transit, a resident council, computer lab with free Wi-Fi, a weekly food pantry, playground, tot lot/pocket park, adult basic education and a Little Free Library; confirm current program schedules. A sample two-bedroom floor plan is linked on the property page. https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad/reverend-butler/

Crestmont — 1007 W. N Summit St (as printed by BHA; malformed, unverified residential address). BHA's RAD property page gives “1007 W. N Summit St,” an internally malformed address resembling its office at 1007 N. Summit Street. Do not place every Crestmont home at the administrative office.

Its application portal describes a neighborhood of single-story and townhouse homes, from efficiency units through five bedrooms; the property page does not give Crestmont's unit total. BHA says the site was built in 1965, with units renovated from 2009 onward and full RAD renovations beginning in spring 2022; that is a dated history, not proof work is still underway.

It lists transit, resident council, computer lab with free Wi-Fi, weekly food pantry, playground, adult education and Little Free Library; confirm present services. A sample two-bedroom floor plan is linked on the property page. The portal also calls Crestmont “Public Housing” in one section while grouping it with RAD elsewhere; confirm the current unit program with BHA. https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad/crestmont/

The property pages give management contact 812-339-3491 ext. 112 or 118 and fax 812-339-7177; work orders ext. 121 and after-hours emergencies ext. 3 are service channels, not proof of open intake. BHA's https://bhaindiana.net/programs/rad/getting-started/ says the three sites share one RAD waitlist and that placement depends on unit size and verified preference points rather than first-come order.

It describes income and immigration/citizenship eligibility, landlord-reference checks and a mandatory drug screen for adults before an offer (https://bhaindiana.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Drug-Screen-Policy.pdf); it does not publish a property-specific guarantee for applicants with convictions. https://bhaindiana.net/programs/application-portal/ explicitly labels the shared RAD waiting list “Closed October 30th, 2024.” The portal's “Apply Now” and step-two form links do not override that closure.

Check BHA directly at 812-339-3491 for changes; no vacancy or intake is independently verified.

HAMMOND HOUSING AUTHORITY PUBLIC HOUSING — https://hammondhousing.org/public-housing/, reviewed September 29, 2026. The page names only Turner Park (80 townhouses) and Hubert Humphrey High-Rise (118 apartments). Their listed counts sum to 198, while HHA's separate https://hammondhousing.org/welcome/ claims 260 public-housing units.

These claims are not reconciled; do not infer or invent another 62-unit site, and do not treat any unit total as current availability. Neither named site's page supplies a confirmed residential street address.

HHA's https://hammondhousing.org/contact/ calls 7325 Linden Place an office, while its portal https://portal.hammondhousing.org/ and older overview give 1402 173rd Street as an HHA address; neither is verified as one of the two properties. The general overview describes HHA accommodations, but it does not establish individual accessible-unit features.

Turner Park — HHA's public-housing page lists 80 townhouses with two to four bedrooms; 80 is a site count, not a vacancy count. It describes rent as 30% of monthly income or choice/ceiling rent, with residents paying their own gas and electricity and a monthly utility allowance deducted in the gross-rent calculation.

It lists weekly lawn service and semiannual landscaping, resident-organization participation and off-duty community-policing officers; confirm current services and charges with HHA. A 2022 HHA construction notice locates the development north of Michigan Avenue between Sohl and Hohman Avenues and gives 445 Michigan Court as the community-building meeting place—not a verified address for all 80 townhouses.

The page says public-housing units have been smoke-free since January 1, 2018. 2022 construction site description and community-building meeting address: https://hammondhousing.org/request-for-proposals-construction-services/

Hubert Humphrey High-Rise Building — HHA lists 118 apartments from studios to one bedrooms; 118 is a building count, not a current vacancy count. Its page reserves the building for seniors, near-elderly people (50 or older), and people with disabilities, and says children cannot reside in the building. It describes rent as 30% of monthly income with utilities included.

Listed amenities and services include coin-operated resident laundry, resident-organization participation, off-duty community-policing officers, remodeled apartments/common areas and a private patio/garden with gazebo; the page is undated, so confirm their present condition. HHA says its public-housing units have been smoke-free since January 1, 2018.

This property page gives no residential street address; HHA's office and portal mailing addresses must not be mistaken for the high-rise entrance. No high-rise street address provided by https://hammondhousing.org/public-housing/; administrative contacts https://hammondhousing.org/contact/ and https://portal.hammondhousing.org/ are not proof of a dwelling location.

HHA's https://hammondhousing.org/waiting-list-info/ says “THE LOW-INCOME PUBLIC HOUSING WAITING LIST IS NOW CLOSED” (reviewed September 29, 2026). The older “opening” banner on https://hammondhousing.org/public-housing/ links to that closed notice; do not advertise open intake.

Ask HHA at 219-989-3265 (the contact on its https://portal.hammondhousing.org/) for a future opening, eligibility and written conviction-screening criteria; neither a vacancy nor approval is verified.

GARY HOUSING AUTHORITY WAITLIST COMMUNITIES — https://garyhousing.org/waitlists/, five linked residential detail pages reviewed September 29, 2026. The page names three family-public-housing communities (Concord Village, Miller Heights, East Point) and two senior-public-housing high-rises (Glen Park, Genesis Towers). It gives bedroom ranges only for the three family communities.

These five linked communities are not a complete verified inventory of every GHA property, and no linked page establishes a current vacancy.

GHA's waitlists page https://garyhousing.org/waitlists/ marks four distinct lists CURRENTLY CLOSED: Housing Choice Voucher (HCV), Project-Based Voucher (PBV), family public housing, and senior public housing. “APPLY NOW” buttons still appear below closed notices; they are not evidence that intake is open. HCV is a voucher program, PBV is a separate list, and neither adds another named property to this page.

GHA's main line is 219-881-6400. For written conviction-screening rules, available units or a future opening, contact GHA; no acceptance or vacancy is established.

Concord Village — The GHA family-public-housing waitlist identifies Concord Village at 5001 W. 19th Avenue, Gary IN 46406, with two- to five-bedroom homes. Its linked detail page calls it Concord Village IV and prints 5001 West 19th Avenue, Gary IN 46407, with property contact 219-949-1213. Those ZIP codes conflict; neither page identifies each dwelling entrance, so this multi-home community is not pinned to one address.

The detail page describes a Brunswick-neighborhood location near a grocery store, park and bus route, with retail, a school, police station and South Shore rail access further away. It does not give a verified unit total, rent or vacancy count. Property page: https://garyhousing.org/communities-concord-village-iv/

Miller Heights — The GHA family waitlist locates Miller Heights at 7119 E. 5th Avenue, Gary IN 46403, with two- to five-bedroom homes. The linked property page instead prints 6800 E. 5th Place (5th Place and LaPorte Street), Gary IN 46403, and contact 219-881-7917. Both are GHA source claims; neither has been established as the correct entrance for all homes, so no address is pinned.

Its detail page describes the Miller neighborhood near Lake Street businesses, transit and Miller South Shore station, a library, schools, pharmacies, parks, Indiana Dunes and the lakefront. No unit total, price or vacancy is stated. Property page: https://garyhousing.org/communities-miller-heights/

East Point — The GHA family waitlist describes East Point at 21st Avenue and Iowa Street, Gary IN 46407, with two- to five-bedroom homes. Its property page likewise gives only that intersection, not a numbered residential entrance, and lists contact 219-881-7917. It describes the Aetna/Pulaski neighborhood near parks, an elementary school, grocery, bus stops and childcare providers.

The intersection is a general site reference and is not pinned as a dwelling; GHA states no unit total, rent or current vacancy on these pages. Property page: https://garyhousing.org/east-point/

Glen Park Senior High Rise — The GHA senior-public-housing waitlist and linked Glen Park High-Rise detail page identify 3280 Pierce Street, Gary IN 46408; the detail page lists 219-981-2833. It describes access to Little Calumet River Trail, South Gleason Park Golf Course, Indiana University Northwest, bus stops and shops near Grant Street/West 35th Avenue.

The linked pages do not give a numeric senior age threshold, unit total, bedroom mix, rent or current vacancy. Confirm eligibility and accessible-unit features with GHA. Property page: https://garyhousing.org/communities-glen-park-senior-high-rise/

Genesis Towers Senior High Rise — The GHA senior-public-housing waitlist and linked Genesis Towers detail page identify a residential high-rise at 578 Broadway, Gary IN 46402, with site contact 219-881-6412. GHA also uses 578 Broadway as a central-office address; its separate residential property page is evidence that Genesis Towers is a housing site there, not a second office-only listing.

The detail page describes downtown access to parks, schools, a youth club, transit and the South Shore Gary Metro rail station. The linked pages do not give a numeric senior age threshold, unit total, bedroom mix, rent or current vacancy. Property page: https://garyhousing.org/communities-genesis-towers-senior-high-rise/

Contacts printed on the waitlist: hcv@garyhousing.org for HCV, pbvapplications@garyhousing.org for PBV, and phwaitlist@garyhousing.org displayed for family public housing. The family email's HTML link actually points to the PBV mailbox, so verify the destination before sending documents. The page lists no separate senior-waitlist email; call GHA's main line 219-881-6400.

The stated waitlist closures override the visible application buttons.

A practical next step

Preparing your application

A little preparation can help you ask better questions before paying an application fee.

  • Gather proof of income (recent pay stubs, an offer letter, or bank statements).
  • Collect positive references from prior landlords or employers where possible.
  • Prepare a brief, honest explanation letter that provides context for your record.
  • Ask each property directly about its reported screening policy before paying any application fee.
  • Confirm the lookback period and which offense types a property may consider.

Good to know

Frequently asked questions

What do the screening and verification statuses mean on Indiana listings?

A listing's screening status describes the policy reported for that property, while its verification status describes the status of that information. Check both, along with any verification date, and contact the property directly because policies can change.

Are all Indiana listings verified?

No. Unverified records may be publicly visible. Each listing displays its verification status, and a verification date appears when one is available.

Does a listing in Indiana guarantee approval?

No. A listing is not a promise of acceptance. Screening policies and decisions are made by each property; contact it directly to confirm its current requirements before applying.

Where can I find state-specific guidance for Indiana?

If state guidance or resources are provided on this page, review them below. This page is informational only and does not determine how a property's screening policy applies to you.

Request Housing Help

Tell us where you want to live and we will review your request and point you toward relevant housing resources. This is not a rental application, and approval is never guaranteed.

This page is informational only and is not a rental application. Reported policies can change at any time and approval is never guaranteed. Contact the property directly to verify. Last updated October 7, 2026.